I have my own domain, so set up email addresses such that if I get spammed I know where the source of my details was. When registering with performncing.com I used a new address set up specifically for use on this site and this site alone. This new address has never been used to send out an email from my machine, never given to ANYONE, and only used in the initial registration.
Emails to that address have, until recently, been associated with performancing.com, a total of 2 emails since I registered if memory serves me right. In the last 3 days I've had 2 Nigerian 147 emails sent to this address. My machine is firewalled up to the eyeballs, no viruses. This address has not been lifted from me, that's a certainty.
So, either the site's database has been hacked, or the machines of the site owners who send out the emails is virus riddled. Either way it sucks.
Those 2 emails are the ones I know about, the ones that my SPAM filters quaratined rather than discarded.















Same here (WTF?)
I also used a unique address for subscribing to Performancing (i.e. perfomancing@mydomain.com). The following mail recently wasn't spamfiltered by my Gmail:
In addition I received several messages that did get spamfiltered, like this one:
i get them too
I get them too, but didn't realize it was via Performancing. I'll talk to David.
And more...
@Raj: Please do, and tell him to please explain how this is possible.
And more...
Quite easy
Basl, it is pretty easy actually to spoof email addresses and not that much can be done, unless the mail sender IP and mail software is configured only to allow certain IPs.
But I am sure David will look into that. Until then, maybe you could blacklist certain words, such as 'lottery' or 'winning'
Plain and simple
ifranky, I know it's easy to spoof an e-mail address when sending spam. It would not be so easy to figure out _where to send_ your spam.
My subscribtion-address was unique for Performancing.com, and nowhere to be found on the Big Bad Interwebs. So to me it's plain and simple:
Either Performancing.com seems to have accidentaly 'dropped' their subscriber-list with our addresses, in a public place where a spammer got access to them. Or worse: our addresses were sold.
Post new comment